Big Spacer image

Facts about the Beaufort County

Beaufort County - Beaufort, Port Royal, Lobeco, Frogmore, Sheldon, Bluffton and Hilton Head Island. There are numerous gated communities and private plantations/resorts. The major unincorporated areas are Burton, Lady's Island, Grays Hill, St. Helena Island, Sheldon and Okatie.

Beaufort Area Government

Government County: 9 member county Council - Administrator System

 Beaufort : Mayor - council system

Nearest cities

 Savannah, GA. (46 miles South)   Charleston, SC (69 miles North)

Beaufort Area Population

 Beaufort County - more than 138,000 (all population figures are 2006 estimates)

 Beaufort city: 13,000+  Beaufort urban : 36,000+  Port Royal urban: 8,000+  Hilton Head urban : 34,000+  Bluffton urban: 6,000+

Beaufort County Economy

 Military, Tourism, Agriculture, Light Industry, Seafood, Service Industry.

Emergency System

 County wide 911 system : Fire and EMS system ; 3 Hospitals ; HAZMAT and Disaster Center ; 7 Law Enforcement Branches

Major Waterways

 Major Waterways are Broad River, Coosaw River, Beaufort River (all on Intercoastal Waterway)

Public Beaches

 Hunting Island State Park - (fee required), Hilton Head Island, Port Royal Island (River Beach).